What's the difference in a muffin and a cupcake?

Cupcake batter is beaten longer than muffins, which gives them a tighter, more even crumb. Cupcake recipes generally have more sugar and fat (butter, oil, or dairy) than muffins and may include ingredients like whipped eggs or even mayo for texture. And yes, cupcakes almost always include frosting.