What's the song sixteen tons about?

Sixteen Tons" is a song written by Merle Travis about a coal miner, based on life in the mines of Muhlenberg County, Kentucky. Travis first recorded the song on August 8, 1946. A 1955 version recorded by Tennessee Ernie Ford reached number one in the Billboard charts