What is black licorice made from?

Many "licorice" products manufactured in the U.S. actually don't contain any licorice. Instead, they contain anise oil, which has the characteristic smell and taste of "black licorice" and use an artificial green dye. Real licorice contains an extract from the Glycyrrhiza glabra plant