How do you cook lentils?

Rinse the lentils in a fine mesh sieve and pick thru them before you cook them. Then, simmer! Just fill a large pot halfway with water, bring it to a boil, and add the lentils. Simmer until they’re tender. The specific cook time will depend on what type of lentils you’re cooking.