What is the most common isotope?

The most common carbon isotope is carbon-12. Its name signifies that its nucleus contains six protons and six neutrons, for a total of 12. On Earth, carbon-12 accounts for almost 99 percent of naturally occurring carbon. Scientists use atomic mass units, or amu, to measure the mass of elements.