Did apollo one blow up?

During a test Jan. 27, 1967, tragedy struck the Apollo 1 mission when a fire inside the capsule caused the death of the 3 astronauts slated to go to the moon. This occurred in a pre-flight simulation and lessons from this tragic event led to major changes in the design of future lunar modules.