What is a saiyan?

Saiyans are a naturally aggressive race of extraterrestrials playing a central role in the Dragon Ball series of anime and manga. The name is a pun on words for wildman & vegetable, & all full-blooded Saiyans in the series have name which are a pun on various vegetables.