What's the coldest temperature ever recorded in indianapolis?

On January 19, 1994 in New Whiteland, just south of Indianapolis, the state's coldest temperature was recorded, according to the National Weather Service. It was minus 36 degrees, not including wind chill. Indianapolis and Richmond both hit minus 27 degrees and Muncie, minus 29 degrees on that day.