What kind of music does the cantina band play in star wars?

The style of music is called jzz, with an i. It is an upbeat swing style of music. The first time it is mentioned is in the novel form of Return of the Jedi. The of the 2007 Figrin D'an and the Modal Nodes action figure 5-pack refers to the band's music as "jazz."