How do burgers get in your nose?

The mucous membranes in the nasal cavity constantly produce a wet mucus that lines the cavity and removes dust and pathogens from the air flowing through. The closer the mucus is to being near the nostril opening, the more moisture it loses, and the more likely it is to dry out and become stuck.