How do you get monkey pops?

Monkeypox virus is transmitted from one person to another by contact with lesions, body fluids, respiratory droplets and contaminated materials such as bedding. Typically, up to a tenth of persons ill with monkeypox may die, with most deaths occurring in younger age groups.