What's the common exception word?

A word that does not follow the phonetic spelling rules of the language, or where the usual rules act in an unusual way. As an example the word school has a 'ch' in it but makes the sound of a 'k' it is therefore an exception word as it does not follow the phonic rules early learning teaches.