Is pop short for popular music?

Pop often refers to a particular style of popular music. Pop music may borrow elements from other styles such as urban, dance, rock, Latin, and country, but pop is commonly short to medium songs written in a basic format like verse-chorus structure, with repeated choruses, melodic tunes, and hooks.