Are all horses born on the same day?

All horses born in the same year share their official birthday as the 1st of January. When racing as two-year olds, a horse born in the early months of the year is likely to be stronger and more mature than one born later, despite officially being the same age.

---

American thoroughbreds all celebrate their 'birthday' as January 1 of the year they were born - so that all 3-year-olds remain 3 year olds the entire calendar year. This isn't true of all breeds nor all countries. Horses are born all year, early spring is most frequent and safest.