What is the story behind band on the run?

The song was inspired by a comment that George Harrison made during a meeting of the Beatles' record label. The song's theme is freedom and escape and coincided with Harrison, Lennon & Starr parting with manager Allen Klein, leading to improved relations between McCartney and his fellow ex-Beatles.