What's the difference between a c. d. and a. d. v. d.?

A Digital Versatile Disc or Digital Video Disc (DVD) is similar to a CD-ROM in that you can only read data from it. The difference is that the DVD can store much more data than CD-ROM, CD-R, or CD-RW. DVD+R is a recordable DVD format similar to CD-R. The disc cannot be recorded onto a second time.