What is rocket eighty eight?

"Rocket 88" is a song that was first recorded in Memphis, Tennessee, in March 1951. The recording was credited to "Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats", who were actually Ike Turner and his Kings of Rhythm. The single reached number one on the Billboard R&B chart.