What kind of fish is cod?

Many fish are labeled cod in the market because they share similar traits : firm, white, meaty flesh. There are Atlantic Cod (Whitefish), Pacific Cod (Alaska Cod, Tara, Codfish), Black Cod (Sablefish, Butterfish), Lingcod (Buffalo Cod, Bluefish, White Cod), Rockfish (Pacific Snapper), and Pollock.