Was jimmy stewart in the army?

Yes. On March 22, 1941, Jimmy Stewart was drafted into the U.S. Armed Forces and was assigned to the Army Air Corps as an enlisted man. He remained in the USAF Reserve and was promoted to brigadier general on July 23, 1959.