Is there a difference between olive oil and vegetable oil?

Yes. Vegetable oil is from the seeds and other parts of various plants while olive oil is exclusively from olives. The smoke point of vegetable oil is higher at 400-450 degrees F versus extra virgin olive oil which smokes at 325-375 degrees F.