Who was colonel potter?

Harry Morgan, original name Harry Bratsburg, (born April 10, 1915, Detroit, Michigan - died December 7, 2011, Los Angeles, California), American actor best known for his television work, particularly as the gruff but kindhearted Col. Sherman T. Potter on M*A*S*H.