What is basil?

Basil, also called great basil, is a culinary herb of the family Lamiaceae. It is a tender plant, and is used in cuisines worldwide. Basil refers to the variety also known as sweet basil or Genovese basil. Basil is native to tropical regions from Central Africa to Southeast Asia.

---

Basil is an herb which is often the main plant ingredient in pesto and provides the green color and distinctive smell.