When does a rainbow come?

The most familiar type rainbow is produced when sunlight strikes raindrops in front of a viewer at a precise angle (42 degrees). Rainbows can also be viewed around fog, sea spray, or waterfalls. A rainbow is an optical illusion—it does not actually exist in a specific spot in the sky.