Where does ringa ringa roses come from?

It is widely believed that this rhyme refers to the Great Plague of London in 1665. A rosy rash, they allege, was a symptom of the plague, and posies of herbs were carried as protection and to ward off the smell of the disease. 'Ring Around the Rosie'