Why is it called a waxing moon?

Waxing means getting bigger. The phases of the moon go: New moon (you can't see it) waxing crescent (backwards "C") 1st quarter (half lit "D") waxing gibbous (fatter than a "D") full (like a capital "O") Getting smaller is called "waning" The other half of the phases is similar, just use waning.