How long has gymnastics been around?

Gymnastics is considered to be one of the oldest athletic competitions. It has been around since at least 200 BC. The Greeks were the first to exhibit this sport, and it was later adopted by the Roman army for training exercises. The practice spread across the ancient world through Roman conquest.