Why are cats so soft?

Cats are fastidious groomers and will groom themselves to keep clean. Their tongue is rough with tiny bristles that act like a hairbrush. This removes dirt and debris, while separating the fur like a comb. Apart from cleaning, the brushing helps spread the skin’s oils and results in softer fur.