Why don't dogs like rain?

Most dogs and people don't like going out in the rain. Water gets in their ears and eyes, they get cold and since they don't wear shoes the ground feels squishy and weird when it's wet. Plus dogs rely on their sense of smell and rain pulls scent particles out of the air which might confuse dogs.