What year did they stop making silver half dollars?

In 1964, the Mint issued the last regular circulating 90-percent silver dimes, quarters and half dollars. From 1965 to 1970, the Mint made 40-percent silver half dollars. In more recent years, special silver proof sets were made for collectors and sold at a high premium over face value.