Who wrote killing the blues?

Rowland Salley (born November 2, 1949) is an American musician, songwriter and artist, His best-known tune is "Killing the Blues", which has been covered by John Prine, Chris Smither, Shawn Colvin, Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, and most recently Shooter Jennings and Billy Ray Cyrus in 2015.