Is there an expiration date on flour?

Yes, there is an expiration date on flour. In the United States, bags of flour generally have a best if used by or expiration date indicated on them, but that is not a guarantee. If uncertain, ask the manufacturer.

---

Flour does expire and some types sooner than others. All-purpose flour stays good for about 1 year. Nut flours such as almond last 3 to 6 months. The lifespan of all flours can be doubled by properly sealing and freezing them.