Are hurricanes named after women?

The National Hurricane Center began formally naming storms in 1950. At first they were named from a phonetic alphabet, such as Able, Baker, Charlie, etc., but this method was changed in 1953 in favor of using alphabetized female names. After 1979, hurricanes are now named after both men and women.