What temperature do i season a cast iron skillet?

To Season Your Cast-Iron Skillet, Dry it thoroughly. Spread a thin layer of melted shortening or vegetable oil over the skillet. Place it upside down on a middle oven rack at 375°. (Place foil on a lower rack to catch drips.) Bake 1 hour; let cool in the oven.

---

Season cast iron cookware in the oven a 450 to 500 degrees fahrenheit or 230 to 260 degrees celsius. Coat your pan with oil then place it upside down on a piece of foil or a baking sheet in the oven for one hour. If you season your pan right-side-up it may become sticky.