What temperature do i season a cast iron skillet?

To Season Your Cast-Iron Skillet, Dry it thoroughly. Spread a thin layer of melted shortening or vegetable oil over the skillet. Place it upside down on a middle oven rack at 375°. (Place foil on a lower rack to catch drips.) Bake 1 hour; let cool in the oven.