Is there a five hundred dollar bill in u. s. currency?

The last $500 bill rolled off the presses in 1945, and it was formally discontinued 24 years later in 1969. Like all the bills featured here, the $500 bill remains legal tender. Most $500 notes in circulation today are in the hands of dealers and collectors.