What is a rain in minecraft?

Rain is a semi-common temporary, global occurrence that can happen randomly at any time within the Overworld. In colder biomes, and at certain altitudes, it snows instead. ... The average rainfall lasts 0.5–1 Minecraft day, and there is a 0.5–7.5 day delay between rains.