What is a deuce in tennis?

Deuce is the score in a game of tennis when both players have forty points.

---

In tennis, deuce, refers to a tie score of 40, where either player needs to win by two points for the game to conclude. The next point is the advantage meaning one more point to win versus the other player now needs at least 3 to win.