What's the difference between a conventional oven and a toaster oven?

A toaster oven uses less space, consumes less energy, and offers more control than its conventional counterpart—and it's the perfect size for preparing micro-batches of freshly baked treats. However, since it’s so much smaller, it’s less practical as more than a backup for larger households.