What does a weather balloon do?

A weather balloon is used to measure atmospheric conditions such as temperature, humidity, and wind. The balloon carries a radiosonde (a lightweight box with sensors) high into the atmosphere that can transmit weather observations back to tracking equipment on earth to help with forecasts.