What does the minecraft enchantment respiration do?

Respiration is a helmet enchantment for extending breathing time underwater.

---

Respiration extends underwater breathing time by +15 seconds per enchantment level. It also grants a chance of not taking drowning damage each second by level (level + 1) . The maximum level that can be obtained without commands is level 3.