What does the name mark mean?

Mark is a traditionally masculine name with roots in the Bible as well as Latin and Swedish. It can mean "polite," "shining," "warring," or "hammer."

---

Mark is a traditionally masculine name that means “consecrated to the god Mars.” It is derived from the Latin name Mart-kos.