Is pitbull one word or two?

Pitbull is a compound word using the words pit and bull. The term “pit bull” refers to an ill-defined type of dog, rather than a breed. The term “pit bull” originated in the British Isles in the early 1800s when the barbaric sport of “bull baiting” arose