What's the meaning of temporal?

It is an adjective, and it simply means that it relates to time, as in "now", "past", or "future" references. An alternate secular meaning is that it is relating to worldly as opposed to spiritual affairs. A statement such as "I will go to the store tomorrow" is temporal for tomorrow.