Who is the last byzantine empire?

The fall of Constantinople marked the end of a glorious era for the Byzantine Empire. Emperor Constantine XI Palaeologus died May 29, 1453, in battle that day, and the Byzantine Empire collapsed, ushering in the long reign of the Ottoman Empire.