Who were the battling bastards of bastone?

The Siege of Bastogne was an engagement in December 1944 between American and German forces at the Belgian town of Bastogne, as part of the larger Battle of the Bulge. The Battered Bastards of Bastogne refers to the contributions by 530 soldiers who were on the ground or in the air over Bastogne.