How long do you bake potatoes in a microwave?

The average-sized potato is around 4-5 inches long. This size potato will take around 15-20 minutes to cook through. It will likely take longer but it's best to start out with 15 minutes. Then, if more time is needed, return the potato to the microwave for an additional 10 minutes.