Which has more caffeine light roast coffee or dark roast coffee?

On a weight basis light and dark roast coffee beans contain about the same caffeine. Coffee beans expand when roasted, so some brewing methods that measure by volume will produce higher caffeine levels with light roast beans. Using equal weights gives the same caffeine for light and dark roast.