What's scary about three a.m.?

The "witching hour" is a time of night associated with supernatural events. Witches, demons and ghosts are thought to appear and to be at their most powerful. Black magic is thought to be most effective at this time. In the Western tradition, the hour is between 3 and 4 A.M.