Who invented the word swag?

The word “swagger” (and, by extension, “swag”) is first recorded in “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” by William Shakespeare, who used loan words, slang words, and creatively applied prefixes and suffixes to make the English language in his plays richer and more colorful.