What are marshmallow stocks?

The marshmallow plant is a perennial flowering plant that grows in damp areas. Its branched stalk or stem stands 3-4 feet high. The roots of this plant contain mucilage, which can be used to thicken recipes, sort of like gelatin which could be considered stock.