What causes mushrooms to grow?

Mushrooms grow from spores that are so tiny you can't see individual spores with the naked eye. Because the spores don't contain chlorophyll to begin germinating (as seeds do), they rely on substances such as sawdust, grain, wooden plugs, straw, wood chips, or liquid for nourishment.